The Passing of Douglas Reeman

This brief note from his wife says it all:

Update 73
Posted by Kimberley Reeman

15 hours ago
 

January 23, 2017

21:30 pm Greenwich Mean Time

“Good night, sweet prince… and flights of angels sing thee to thy rest.”

I will never say good-bye, dearest of men. I will say, I will always love you. I will always be your girl. I will never forget you.

You have their hearts.”

An interview with him can be found here in an issue of Quarterdeck, a publication I encourage all to subscribe to and read. For those of us who came to his works through his Richard Bolitho novels (written as Alexander Kent), I can’t think of a better tribute/introduction to this man than reading The Bolitho Newsletter that appeared with every new Bolitho novel. They are all so informative and average 8-10 pages each full of background information that will inform every devotee of this genre. A bonus is the separate 1994 Bolitho short story – Homecoming – that is available for online perusal.

Here is his obituary from The Times, and here is a remembrance from The Old Salt Blog.

My late father introduced me to Hornblower when I was very young; I was so glad to return the favor by introducing him to the Reeman/Kent novels as they became available. Needless to say, the Hornblowers and Bolithos are in the pride of place in my rather substantial library of British naval fiction. Fair winds and calm seas.

Leave a Reply

